I thought nothing could sound more gross than gluten free…

25 Jun

A year ago, when a couple people I know would try to get me to try out their gluten-free food, I was like “I don’t know what gluten is – but it’s delicious!”  (ahem – keep all your gluten free stuff to yourself!)

And as I’ve gotten more serious about health and eating like a caveman, gluten has fallen by the wayside – although I swear to goodness – I am not a  food nazi.   I did however find a really interesting interview done about cardiovascular health, diet, and paleo-style eating.  Apparently:

Quercetin, a flavonoid found in high concentrations in green and black tea, capers, apple skins, and other fruit skins of citrus fruits is known to be particularly helpful for increasing blood vessel strength, ease  hay fever, eczema, sinusitis and even asthma. Quercetin is also revered for its ability to reduce your risk for heart disease.

So now I must figure out a way to make candied fruit peel, primal style, methinks. Those ladies over at Pinterest figured some pretty cool stuff out too: Primal Recipes

I want to know, how much improvement can be seen of cardiovascular health by consciously eating  Quercetin and eating primal?

Robb Wolfe, a nutritionalist, has a really interesting interview here about that very question: Cardiovascular Health

Chris Kresser has some astonishing insight into food and nutrition.  He started out the same way that I did (sick) – he picked up some weird tropical flu in Asia that no doctor could help him with, thus turned into a “nutritional scout.”

I just thought that I would share.

3 Responses to “I thought nothing could sound more gross than gluten free…”

  1. cmberb June 26, 2012 at 1:48 am #

    So tell me, what the crap is that in that picture? I don’t have many varicose veins yet, but I’m sure they are on their way. I will have to take a closer look at this info when I am not running around like a crazy person getting ready for a wedding. We are excited for you to be here! See you Wednesday!

  2. desarrollo sitios web June 27, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    An impressive share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in actual fact purchased me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading extra on this topic. If potential, as you turn into expertise, would you mind updating your weblog with extra particulars? It’s extremely helpful for me. Large thumb up for this blog publish!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. lowering insuline spikes « somegenericblog - August 21, 2012

    […] grains which have fiber, thus slowing insulin release.  I think that my prior posts here and here have talked about what heavy grain consumption (whole or otherwise)  has meant for the human body. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

