thinking about preventing heart disease.

5 Jun

So I have been reading a lot of literature herehere and here about nutrient dense food.  I cannot even tell you how much my health has improved in the last two months.  It is incredible – my skin looks gorgeous, no hangnails, no colds!  My legs have finally stopped hurting me every day (a remnant of my days spent waiting tables).  I am elated!  I think that one of the best things that I have started to do is take cod liver oil.  EW!!  I never thought that sentence would come out of my mouth – but there it is.

 

Whatever is in that – it’s a mystery – but it makes the difference between breakouts and sore legs from one day to the next.  I am taking this stuff:

It has a lemon-lime thing going on – not too bad – I drink it STRAIGHT OUT OF THE BOTTLE.  Now that is some desperation people.

I am also sick of growing and squeezing wheat grass.  The whole thing is a royal pain for the amount of return. And pricey!! So, I bought something the other day.

Pond scum!!!  Now that’s exactly what has been missing from my diet right there!  It’s totally repulsive!!  Seriously.  It is one of the most disgusting things I have ever consumed.  It seems ok, not sure if it’s better/as good as wheat grass yet.  More later on that.

The other thing that I tried today is quinoa.

I now want to try fermenting it to make it more nutritious and reduce the phytate content which tends to soak up other vitamins in your body.
QUINOA PHYTATE REDUCTION
Soaked 12-14 hours,

germinated 30 hours,

lacto-fermented 16-18 hours,

cooked at 212 degrees F for 25 minutes

I will let you know in a couple days how it goes, the whole process takes about 3 days.  Any good quinoa recipes?

4 Responses to “thinking about preventing heart disease.”

  1. cmberb June 5, 2012 at 5:59 am #

    I bought a bag of organic quinoa from Costco, still haven’t tried it yet. I need to find some good recipes. Let me know if you try anything, I would love to start cooking it for the fam.

    • somegenericusername June 5, 2012 at 6:12 am #

      I surely will – I am excited to try it out. I have not had a pasta-rice-bread style dish in such a long time, it will be a real treat!

  2. Sehr-i ayin:) June 6, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    What are you doing lady?In one sense yeah i do suffer from leg pain every day,they are getting heavier and heavier.Tell me what you are doing.In the another sense how do you know it doesn’t ruin your body?Let me know…

    • somegenericusername June 7, 2012 at 6:09 am #

      I am using a number of things, there is a blog that I will send you – this lady really knows a lot and it’s pretty funny! But basically, avoid grain (most especially baked items) and sugar, eat organic meat and veggies, lots of omega 3 (like cod liver oil) and Vitamin D. I can only go by what I see and how I feel. No acne, no sores, no flushed cheeks (all signs of inflammation) and cardiovascular health – no sore and heavy legs. A bright, clear complexion, and reduction of any small facial wrinkles. It’s like rewinding the clock!!

Leave a Reply

