good sources of organic, locally sourced stuff, etc

9 Jun

I found a great resource for tea/spices/essential oils.  I cook a lot and I would really like to make my own perfume.  I have such a weird idea of what I want to smell like – it does not exist.  So – I’m making my own!  And what about these guys doesn’t look awesome?!?!

Well except maybe this…

 What a nice young man.

They also sell ground stevia leaves.  The leaf is 230 times more sweet than sugar (versus refined stevia, which is about 30) so you get a lot more bang for your buck plus some extra vitamins.  I bought a pound for 13 dollars from them as well.  Now I just have to figure out how to make green-everything look appetizing.

I’m pretty sure this is a dude.

Anyways – here’s the linkage: Mountain Rose Herbs

The other thing I have been worrying about (because there is one thing I just don’t do enough of!) is what I put on my skin.  I pecked through the Environmental Working Group website and found what they rate as the “least likely to give you cancer” concealer plus they don’t pour their products in bunnies eyes.   Everyday Minerals will send you a 7-sample kit for a penny plus shipping!  So of course I ordered some in a shade I think agrees with me,  I will let you know.

3 Responses to “good sources of organic, locally sourced stuff, etc”

  1. cmberb June 10, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    Please let me know about the foundation, I would love to get some that doesn’t cause cancer.

    • somegenericusername June 10, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      I hear you. I became concerned when I looked at the rest of my skin – even on my arms – and noticed that my skin on my face doesn’t look as healthy. It made me wonder….

      • somegenericusername June 23, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

        It’s _okay_. I have found that these mineral based makeups clog my pores!!

Leave a Reply

