just something to think about…

10 Jun

I spent yesterday at my friend’s farm in Lebanon, OH.

It was great, as usual.  Deb and I chased around the chickens and fed the cows while her husband mowed hay.  We had a fantastic supper of deer sausage and steaks.  Deb made homemade peach ice cream.  The food was delicious and the company excellent.  It made me really think about something.  About food.

Something is really wrong.

Feel free to tune me out.

But.

Let’s talk about an industry that is penalizing  journalists for exposing what they do.

When you throw someone in jail because they took pictures of animals that are diseased and sick being butchered and sold as food – it almost seems like you have something to hide.

Do you want to know what’s going on where you get your commercially grown food?  Here’s the condensed version of factory farming.  It is pretty disturbing, so I wouldn’t recommend watching it…

I just think that there is something seriously messed up with our food supply here in the US.  And I can’t change a lot of that.  But I’ve really committed myself, there are families who are working like crazy to provide sustainably grown, humanely raised food here in Ohio.  I just don’t know if I see myself buying much at the grocery store any more.

so it’s like this:

Grassfed beef – Harvest Hill Farms, OH

versus this:

some random feedlot – grainfed cows

yeah.

I am excited.  I am going to try to spend my grocery money on supporting locally grown food only.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  So – one of the first troubles is finding pastured eggs (turns out “cage free” doesn’t really mean shit).

The best part about it all is that grass fed beef and pastured eggs and chicken are all high in Omega 3’s, happy and healthy = no antibiotics.  🙂

2 Responses to “just something to think about…”

  1. cmberbc June 14, 2012 at 5:24 am #

    The food industry in our country is one of the scariest things that most people have no idea about. I don’t want anything to suffer like those poor animals do for me, and I would love to be as self sustainable as possible.

Leave a Reply

