a weeks vacation added a little perspective…

7 Jul

I have been on vacation and fishing in the outdoors, visiting my family.  It has been lovely.  Additionally, I noticed something.  I felt better than I have in a long time (about 6 months).  This would coincide with the time that I moved into the city (Cincinnati).  I was baffled – nothing changed except location.  It’s the first time I thought about air quality.  In the past 2 months, I have been feeling much better with nutritious food, vitamins, and rest – but not a full recovery.  In the last week, my health has been fantastic since about 2-3 days after getting here.

What could it be?  Could it be….

Pollution??

This lead me to in-vest-i-gate where I live:

Toxic air – yay!

Well, now isn’t that interesting?  If you want to know more about your location – you can type in your zip code and check out your air quality here:

Scorecard Goodguide

And I see now it matters a whole lot more than I thought.  It’s time to get the heck out of the city.  It makes sense really – I want to breathe fresh air, eat good food, and drink clean water – none of that in Cincinnati!  I found this VERY cool website WWOOF, which is an international group of farmers who let you live on their land in exchange for help with growing organic food.  I actually found a couple about 20 minutes outside of Cincinnati who have an organic farm on 35 acres operating off of solar/geothermal, a well, lakes, streams, and they are completely focused on tending the earth in a sustainable manner.  And oh yeah – here’s their “air scorecard”

It turns out that the vast amount of air pollution for the county is coming from a Firestone plant up north – just on the border of Kenton County.  Their farm is located in the middle of a nice, clean forest.  I am keeping my fingers crossed – stay tuned!

2 Responses to “a weeks vacation added a little perspective…”

  1. jen October 3, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    Alaska air is spectacular 🙂

Leave a Reply

