good fats and your skin

30 Jul

I have been slathering lotion on over the years, thinking that my skin was really, really dry.  Recently, I started to eat a diet high in cod liver oil, butter, coconut oil, and olive oil (no cooking that, it oxidizes too easily) and the difference in my skin has been quite remarkable.  The really important distinction is that I have  stopped consuming veggie oils pretty much.  I used to consume a tremendous amount of PUFA by eating confit chicken (chicken submerged in oil and cooked slowly) almost daily…McD’s french fries….iHop fried cheesecake…mmmmm..oh wait!

“Polyunsaturated fat (PUFA) can be subdivided into omega-6 and omega-3. PUFA are fragile and vulnerable to oxidative damage, a process that creates free radicals in the body and raises our risk for everything from heart disease to cancer. Modern research suggest that for optimal health we should consume roughly the same amount of omega-6 and omega-3 fat (1:1 ratio), and that our total intake of PUFA should be no more than 4% of calories.  Americans’ omega-6:omega-3 ratio today ranges from 10:1 to 20:1, with a ratio as high as 25:1 in some individuals! This means some people are eating as much as 25 times the recommended amount of omega-6 fat. And it is this excess consumption of omega-6 PUFA – not cholesterol and saturated fat – that is responsible for the modern epidemics of cardiovascular disease, type 2 diabetes, obesity, metabolic syndrome, autoimmune disease and more.” – Chris Kresser

Well, whatever Chris.  All I can say is – I took your advice and now my skin is baby smooth – sans lotion.  Woo hoo!!

And speaking of lotion – I have stopped using all those nasty parabens and I was wondering – what to use now for my night routine for some extra super-added softness?  Well –  how about coconut oil?  Here is a really interesting article about coconut oil on skin and prevention of staph – it has some amazing antifungal and antibiotic properties.

I have been using it on my skin and toenails  in conjunction with oregano oil.  I am hopeful that I will see such astonishing results!

7 Responses to “good fats and your skin”

  1. cmberb July 31, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    That’s awesome! As I sit here with my raw honey face mask : ) I found a super awesome company up here in alaska that makes lotion and soup. I really love it. Smells amazing too. It is so nice to go back to the basics, in everything really.

  2. cmberb July 31, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    soap, not soup.

  3. ann August 6, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    I could not agree with you more. It’s sad – you just cannot trust a business who’s job is to make the most money in the easiest way – at the expense of my health or otherwise. Yay for homemade soap!!

  4. Erica August 30, 2012 at 3:06 am #

    Love love love coconut oil. I use it as my moisturizer, I put it on my face as soon as I get out of the shower. I eat it too : ) I have read a lot about its health benefits not just topically but internally as well. I searched and searched to find the right kind of coconut oil. Of course organic, virgin, cold pressed ect and then finally found a good one. They say definitely get a quality one, is a bit pricier, but the way they extract the oils is very important so the nutrients in it isn’t destroyed. Smells divine.

    • somegenericusername August 30, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

      I couldn’t agree more! I have seen a huge difference in quality and flavor between centrifuge and cold pressed – Nutiva is my favorite!! Pricey, but I buy it in bulk, and I’m sure I don’t have to talk about the high price (healthwise) of cheap food, ha ha.

      • Erica August 31, 2012 at 2:58 am #

        Ha!! Thats what I use too. Love it. I read and read and kept hearing about Nutiva.

  5. cmberb September 1, 2012 at 5:18 am #

    And now I am going to buy it, thanks ladies for saving me all that work!

Leave a Reply

