soy

15 Aug

I used to eat a lot of soy.  Tofu. Edamame. Soymilk (loved it!).  It never, ever crossed my mind in a million years it was anything but a good, healthy idea.  As I’ve learned more about food, I had a very knowledgeable friend remark that soy “destroys your thyroid!”  I was pretty shocked, didn’t the Okinawans with the highest longevity, eat a lot of soy?  I had to learn more, here is what I have found…

This article in Scientific America talks about how mice fed soy develop problems due to the hormone-like effects of  isoflavones, in particular, genistein.  What really grabbed my attention however was this:

“…other researchers are not convinced that eating more soy is healthy for everyone. Infants fed soy formula ingest six to 11 times more genistein on a bodyweight basis than the level known to cause hormonal effects in adults.”

Hmmmm….

Dig in – here’s the link: Scientific American

So what about the Okinawans?  How do they do it?  Well, it turns out the soy we eat is nothing like theirs – it is fermented, whole, and organic. (And certainly not genetically modified!!)

Here is a really, really great article from a staff doctor writing for the Huffington Post: Soy Info

I also enjoyed reading “The Baby Code” which talks about soy as well – you can download it for free over HERE

As for me?  I can say – since I have stopped eating soy myself, I have not had to take any ibuprofen during my cycle.  If I was trying to conceive, I would certainly not eat it.  I think tofu is nasty anyways these days!

4 Responses to “soy”

  1. cmberb August 27, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    Yes I have hear about about this as well. Good news is we were never big soy eaters in the first place.

    • ann August 28, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      well, it’s a win-win, soy is gross.

  2. cmberb August 29, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    I only like it in my mocas, but I don’t buy those anymore so I’m good.

Leave a Reply

