lowering insulin spikes

21 Aug

If you eat a carbohydrate, you’re body secretes insulin.  If you eat refined carbs (i.e. sugar) you’re body secretes more insulin.  Over time, you may lose you’re ability to secrete insulin or become desensitized to it, thus you become a type 2 diabetic – pretty common knowledge.  Additionally…

Dr. Oz says… “spikes in insulin, which causes inflammation… can increase the risk of many cancers.” (link)

Dr. Perricone says “Obesity and unwanted weight gain are the result of an inflammatory condition caused by eating pro-inflammatory foods. These foods contribute to chronically high levels insulin. And we know that high levels of insulin are pro-inflammatory; this is one of the reasons people gain excess weight and cannot seem to lose it when they diet. High levels of insulin put a ‘lock’ on body fat.” (link)

So one piece of  ubiquitous advice has been to eat whole grains which have fiber, thus slowing insulin release.  I think that my prior posts here and here have talked about what heavy grain consumption (whole or otherwise)  has meant for the human body.  In an excerpt from”Wheat Belly” by By William Davis, MD:

“People are usually shocked when I tell them that whole wheat bread increases blood sugar to a higher level than sucrose [1].  Aside from some extra fiber, eating two slices of whole wheat bread is really little different, and often worse, than drinking a can of sugar-sweetened soda or eating a sugary candy bar.”

If you’re still eating wheat – read “Wheat Belly”.  Please. (link)

OK.  So what if I found another way, besides avoiding grain, that lowered the rate at which I secrete insulin?  It has to be delicious and convenient.  And cheap.

Ta DA!!!

Allegedly – this stuff does all that, it’s called Bragg’s apple cider vinegar.  For like, 4 bucks.  It’s fermented apple cider, I tried some last night – it’s so tasty! (I love sour things)  If you take 2 tablespoons at the start of a meal, it supposedly reduces insulin secretion by 30% (link) because it mimics the cultured/fermented food that was very, very common before refrigerators.  I am looking for a good glucose meter, I guess my Wal-mart special is not very reliable with multiple varied readings in a 5-minute period.  I will document and report!!

_________________________________________________________________________________________

1. Foster-Powell, Holt SHA, Brand-Miller JC. International table of glycemic index and glycemic load values: 2002. Am J Clin Nutr. 2002;76(1):5–56.

5 Responses to “lowering insulin spikes”

  1. cmberb August 27, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    I have the same stuff in my fridge, I like to use to to cleans my liver on occasion. Maybe I will start drinking it more.

    • ann August 28, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      it’s pretty potent, but if you dilute it or make some dressing with it – not too bad…

  2. Erica August 30, 2012 at 3:06 am #

    I use this very stuff with as hot as I can stand water to soak my feet, I have learned and read it helps draw toxins out of the body. I have just started looking at your blog and I must say great work Ann. This is all such wonderful information .

    • somegenericusername August 30, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

      What a great idea!! I’m going to try that!
      Thank you very much Erica!! 😀 I have seen such an improvement in my health and I hope that it helps you too!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lowering insulin | Gwinnettgas - September 6, 2012

    […] lowering insulin spikes « somegenericblog […]

Leave a Reply

