why i eat a lot of cold-ease

30 Aug

A couple years ago, I noticed that if I ate a little bit of cold-ease everyday, I felt much better, had better skin, and resisted (of course) colds.  I never really knew why, until I read something very interesting the other day.  Dr. Mercola talked about zinc and what it does here. According to the NIH, zinc is important for many processes, including structure in certain proteins and enzymes, and regulation of gene expression. It helps with immune function, protein synthesis, wound healing, DNA synthesis, and cell division,  proper structure of proteins and cell membranes, improves wound healing, has anti-inflammatory effects, and protects against UV radiation. (1)  Seems pretty important.  How do I get it?

Zinc is readily available in meat and sprouted whole grains and (some disgusting) things like:

Liver
Crimini mushrooms
Spinach and sea vegetables
Oysters
Pumpkin seeds
Beef
Green peas
Raw milk and cheese
Beans

Ok.  I ate liver the other day – it’s gross.  I eat some of those other things, but never too regularly.

I do however suck on a little sugar free zinc lozenge every night while I sleep, which is almost as awesome as sucking on a penny.  Why? For starters, I have noticed that wrinkles (particularly those pesky forehead variety) disappear or are much less prominent the next day, especially after 3 days in a row.  I have seen a truly remarkable cause-effect.  It seems as though I am not the only person who has noticed the mucous membranes truly do offer a nice route for zinc absorption (2).

I have also tried many, many different kinds over the years.  I have seen the best results with Zycam Rapid Melts.  I just wanted to share something that has worked really well for me…

2 Responses to “why i eat a lot of cold-ease”

  1. cmberb August 31, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    I’m totally going to get those! Nothing like working at the school. I got sick so many times last year it was miserable.

    • ann September 4, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      Yeah, the foreign students bring over their antibiotic resistant super-germs – goooooooo…..it helps, I swear by it. I got tired of paying so much (about 10 bucks for 20 lozenges) that I started buying them in bulk Amazon, lol!

Leave a Reply

